Bridging the gap

Trisha Ghosh
3 min readNov 1, 2020

--

Heart disease is the leading cause of death globally. In the US, one person dies due to cardiovascular diseases every 36 seconds. Heart diseases, especially the dreaded Coronary Artery Disease caused due to accumulation of plaque in the arteries, most commonly present themselves in the form of myocardial infarctions or heart attacks at advanced stages.

print(“Hello, World!")

I am Trisha Ghosh, a 16y/o from New Delhi, India. I study in 12th grade in Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram. I have a penchant for languages which stems from my fondness of reading and writing; poetry; haiku; photography; listening to music; coding and learning about recent AI developments.

I was initially interested in AI due to the potential it has to change our future. However contextualizing the technological advancements in the 21st century, we see how computers have taken over almost all aspects of everyday life. The all-pervasive nature of this technological vigor has already started changing everything around us. AI is an extensive field involving research, application, ever-advancing technological changes and a profound understanding of the subject. While it is true that AI may pose a threat to human labor which is abundant in most of the third world countries, I envision a humanitarian realm to bridge the real and the digital divide. During the years of my growing up, I have remained invested in the potential of technology.

My interest in AI was deepened when I enrolled for the AI Scholars Program. My mentors were Sehj Kashyap and Nisheeth Ranjan, who taught me the basics of Machine Learning. For the project work, I was placed in a team for classifying tweets based on the categories food, first-aid, water, energy and spam in a disaster stricken area. My instructor was Nisheeth Ranjan, who helped my team understand how to train the models to perform the task.

One of the other project topics was Healthcare Imaging, and the fascinating presentations made by the other teams left me wondering if it is possible to classify heartbeats based on Electrocardiogram signals and reduce the risk of heart diseases. Arrhythmia in Electrocardiograms (ECG or EKG) has been found to be a good indicator of underlying heart conditions and possible myocardial infarctions.

Therefore, in the following six weeks, I will be collaborating with fellow Inspirit AI Ambassador Anmol Singh Dhaliwal, on a project that will use Machine Learning techniques for classifying heartbeats based on Electrocardiogram signals.

Imitation, as they say, is the highest form of wonder. To be able to see humans and robots work for a social cause on a global level, is a true dream. Hence, anyone interested in bridging the gap between Human Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence is welcome to join me in my quest of exploration.

Trisha Ghosh is a Student Ambassador in the Inspirit AI Student Ambassadors Program. Inspirit AI is a pre-collegiate enrichment program that exposes curious high school students globally to AI through live online classes. Learn more at Inspirit AI.

References:

  1. Heart Disease Facts. (2020, 8 September). Retrieved from: https://www.cdc.gov/heartdisease/facts.htm
  2. Arrhythmia. (2020, June 3). Retrieved from: https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/arrhythmia
  3. Cardiovascular Diseases (CVDs). (2017, May 17). Retrieved from: https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/cardiovascular-diseases-(cvds)

--

--